Dok Seaw Festival in Ban Pamiang

This project, Goze in the Foothills of the Himalaya, is really a continuation of my work in general that explores ideas of non-modern ways of living, connection with nature and the search for a way to find a kind of oneness with the wild. I have been puttering around with these ideas for decades now.

The above is true, generally, but it was the first time that I happened to stumble upon the small rural flowering tree (Dok Seaw) festival near Ban Pamiang that was the kernel for the idea of the project. I imagined a time long ago when a festival of this sort might hav been common throughout the countryside in my places on the planet. A place where people would meet up and share each other’s company, eat food, play games, get into fights… all that sort of thing. I then connected it in a roundabout way to the Goze (of Japan) which in itself was connected with the Shamisen and intolerant musical traditions.

So, it was wonderful once again to spend some time at the festival today. I reckon that this is the fourth time attending for me and this year was a little different as there were a number of people that now recognise me and know a little bit of my story. It was at the school in Ban Pamiang that I brought my instruments to play with the kids, and I have now walked through the village a number of times in my two walks that were a part of the project. Below I’ll add a video and a gallery of some photos from the day today.

It was a gorgeous day, lots of people, lots of smiles and laughter.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment